RSS

LuxCal Forum

The place for questions, suggestions and news about the LuxCal Event Calendar

User:   Password:   Remember Me?   
LuxCal Forum / LuxCal / Comments and Suggestions / Single Sign On (SSO) with other scripts?
Posted:  01 Dec 2012 21:29
Are there currently any scripts that LuxCal shares Single Sign On (SSO) with?

I've been looking at MyBB Forum http://www.mybb.com/ for a project or two and now with LuxCal running multiple calendars. The forum allows for the discussion and lead in (page to embed a calender in) while of course the calendar allows for the events.

This forum SEO-Board seems ok but I would prefer MyBB. I'm not a programmer, my other question is which one has to be modified or do both have to be modified for SSO?

Thanks
Dan

Find great LuxCal examples by Schwartz at http://www.calendarforum.dk/index.html
Posted:  02 Dec 2012 12:43
Hi Dan,
No, there are no shared scripts.
The SSO mechanism in LuxCal is rather simple.
On the parent page, before the iframe statement where the calendar is embedded:
1. take care that PHP sessions are started (session_start();)
2. load the username (or user email address) in session variable $_SESSION['lcUser'];

This of course only works if the calendar admin has created the user accounts for the users which are allowed to automatically (via SSO) log in to the calendar.
I could produce an API for the calendar, which could be called from an other application (e.g. a registration script) which would create a user account in the calendar. So far nobody asked for this.

The SEO board forum is not the best, but it's rather simple and I like that. The problem also is that once one has started with a certain forum and built up a database with subjects and posts it's not so easy to switch over to an other forum application.
Roel
Posted:  02 Dec 2012 14:57
Hi Roel,

If it wasn't too difficult to produce an API you might find others would be interested in it. Of course if I'm the only one then it doesn't make sense.